where trouble was needed

September 1, 2009

Dear Roy Blount

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aravinda @ 4:15 pm

I sure wish I had known about you when I was in elementary school. From the moment I learned about onomatopoeia I felt very strongly that all words partook of this quality, if not from their origin then in the course of their co-evolution with their sound. Of course I did not know about origins or evolution in biological life but I felt it instinctively in the life of letters. My feelings about the letter B are well known to family and friends of the time. While we may disagree on interpretations of specific relationships of sound and sense I was delighted by your numerous examples and just knowing a kindred spirit commanded such a high place. As a child I loved reading the notes in the word entries of the AHD and the chance to read more elaborate notes on the letters themselves is a pleasure I never anticipated.

I must take issue with many of your anecdotes and digressions … more on that later.

Reference: Alphabet Juice

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Ask Amma

Peace, Justice and Sustainability on the Home Front

Rajitha Gopinath

An attempt at reasoning

Jivanshala

Reflections on Education

Learning to read...

Read at your own risk!

Voice

Ideas, Thoughts and many more..

